So Many Newsletters, So Little Time

I am subscribed to dozens of newsletters.

Newsletters about copywriting. Newsletters about DeFi. Newsletters about artificial intelligence. Newsletters about algorithmic trading. Newsletters about sales. Newsletters about negotiation.

Literally, more newsletters than I can read.

That was the main reason that stopped me from launching my own newsletter for quite a long time.

I thought, "With so many newsletters out there, who's going to read mine?"

After procrastinating for many months, I came to the realization that we are all a niche of our own.

Each of us has experienced unique things in life, has a unique perspective of things, a unique voice.

In short, we all have a unique story to tell.

The focus shouldn't be on the billions of newsletters out there, but on finding the right audience among the billions of people out there.

An audience interested in reading what YOU have to tell them from your unique perspective and with your unique voice.

 

Once I overcame that paralysing thought, I faced a decision to make.

I knew I wanted to talk about financial modelling, but from which perspective?

3 types of newsletters pile up relentlessly in my inbox:

  • Newsletters that entertain

  • Newsletters that curate content

  • Newsletters that deep dive into a topic

Entertaining does not sound professional enough.

Content curation consumes a lot of time.

My choice was the latter.

I planned to launch a weekly newsletter deep diving into any of the countless topics you can discuss regarding financial modeling. Topics like cash waterfalls, P-levels, Debt Service Coverage Ratios or reserve accounts, to name a few.

But then something dawned on me.

I am subscribed to many newsletters that deep dive into topics I want to learn about.

They provide lots of value.

But time and again, a new issue lands in my inbox and I think: "Oh, what an interesting topic! I will read it when I have time".

"When I have time" = "Never."

I wondered: "Out of the dozens of newsletters that pile up in my inbox, which ones do I read the most?".

Newsletters that entertain.

I made up my mind.

I'd rather be read, even if I don't sound professional, than sound professional and rot in an inbox, waiting forever to be opened.

"Financial Modelling Took Me To NYC" was born.

 

If you are subscribed to my newsletter, chances are that you find financial modelling highly entertaining.

Or it might be a complete bummer for you.

If you belong to the latter group but have financial modelling needs, lean back, relax and enjoy the stories I tell in my newsletter.

Just let me know and financial modelling will be on me.

 

P.S. If there is any financial modelling topic you'd like me to discuss in this newsletter, hit reply and let me know.

Ander asked me to talk about how to deal psychologically with a modelling task assigned by your boss that you have never done before (and perhaps with short lead times).

Ander, rest assured that your request is well noted. Stay tuned!

  • If you liked this email, forward it to a friend.

  • If this email was forwarded to you and want to receive similar ones, visit agilibus.